Dealing with dem nerves!

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Pixeliz3d_DoD, Feb 6, 2018.

1. Pixeliz3d_DoD

Pixeliz3d_DoD Rookie

PSN ID
    Pixeliz3d_DoD
    Got a question for everyone.

I know im pretty new to racing others online (me and my bro race each other but thats about it), and I know from having a few track days in RL I feel like im going through those same emotions. Learning a new track and being out there with seasoned drivers, in RL I would go out when its clear, and when a faster more confident driver comes up I tend to pull off the racing line and let them past and then get back onto it and try to just get the sensory overload thing out of the way (being behind the wheel and on the track, other cars around etc etc)

How did you guys get over this? Is it a matter of me thinking way too much about it, and that I should just go out full steam, not check the rear view?

Or should I just put myself in a practice room and start slow and each time try to get a consistent lap time, faster each time, no matter what is going on around me (the unconcious competence) where the house could be falling down, yet from repetition I can still do same times due to muscle memory etc?

And then how to overcome these nerves when others are around, not wanting to crash them or yourself.
    Any tips from the seasoned vets on this subject?
  2. POPPINFRESH1234

POPPINFRESH1234 Team Driver

PSN ID
    PoppinFr3sh987
    The more you do the less u will feel nervous, adds to the excitement. Once you have practiced the track enough you will be doing consistent times. When the race starts you just gotta focus on hitting all your marks and hitting your lap times, once you have done 2 laps the grid should have shaken out and you will have a small buffer in front and behind. That’s when you need to switch on and race yourself.
  3. Matthyus

Matthyus GTLOZ Results Steward Team Raceonoz Gold Member Super ROOZ

PSN ID
    Johnnoclint