VR VR in ACC

Discussion in 'Sim Racing Systems & Troubleshooting' started by WALLZY, Mar 10, 2021.

1. WALLZY

WALLZY Rookie Gold Member

Hi Brains trust.

I am looking at buying a VR headset and I am after some feedback from those of you already use VR.

A couple of questions.
    What headset are you using?
    any issues you come across?
    any recommendations on what headset to go with?

Thanks for any feedback you send through.
    c4rLo5 likes this.
  2. krunch

krunch ACC Server Legend Team Raceonoz Gold Member Super ROOZ

Well mate I bought my Oculus Rift CV1 back in the 2nd half of 2016 so I've had a few years experience with that - but nothing else.

The CV1 is a really good design ergonomically and even wearing glasses in it is no problem for me. I know you can't get the CV1 new anymore but the Rift S would certainly be worth looking at and there's a few guys here who use that headset.

The CV1 had a few design flaws that could cause the audio to fail after a few years and that happened to me in late 2019. It was out of warranty so I tried using just a normal headset (as many people did) but I wasn't as comfortable with that. I contacted Oculus asking if there were any authorised repairers in Australia but there weren't any. Amazingly they offered to replace my headset with an 'as-new' refurbished one at no cost if I could provide a US shipping address! I hadn't even asked for that :). I took advantage of that offer so my current headset is my second CV1 and it's perfect :). Very good customer service from Oculus at that time but...

As I'm sure know they are owned by Facebook and Facebook suck! They are soon going to force Oculus owners to use their Facebook accounts with their device and will phase out our actual Oculus accounts. We'll have no choice in the matter and if we don't do it our Oculus device will basically stop working. So beware the FB behemoth that has devoured Oculus!